Jason's Thoughts & ObservationsMusic

Swingin’ With The Mouse: Vol. 1 to Be Released July 17th

Swingin' with the Mouse Vol 1 - performers

Swingin’ With The Music releases its inaugural album, Swingin’ With The Mouse: Vol. 1 on Friday, July 17th.   This eleven track compilation includes a wide range of Disney music from TV, the parks, and movies with a swing interpretation.   The featured vocalists have many Disney connections from film, television and Broadway. For example Courtney Reed, played Jasmine in Aladdin on Broadway sings “I’ll Make a Man Out of You” on the album.

As I listened to the tracks  the first thoughts that jumped to mind were memories of sitting around Carnation Plaza Gardens at Disneyland and listening to the bands performing on warm summer nights.  This playlist would fit in perfectly there!     I really enjoyed the variety of the tracks.  You jump from classic Disney such as “Mickey Mouse March to modern with the “Theme from the Avengers” to the parks with “One Little Spark” from Journey Into Imagination and along the way visit some films and television in several decades in between.

Here is the full track listing:

  1. Mickey Mouse March
  2. Topsy Turvy
  3. My Name Is James
  4. I’ll Make A Man Out Of You (Featuring: Courtney Reed – Aladdin on Broadway)
  5. Mother Knows Best (Featuring: Deedee Magno Hall – The All-New Mickey Mouse Club)
  6. I Will Go Sailing No More (Featuring: Keith David – Princess & the Frog)
  7. One Little Spark
  8. I 2 I (Featuring: Garrett Clayton – Disney Channel’s Teen Beach Movies)
  9. My Strongest Suit (Featuring: Emma Hunton – Freeform’s Good Trouble, Disney’s Freaky Friday Musical)
  10. Cruella De Vil (Featuring: Pablo Rossil)
  11. Theme from “The Avengers”

The band:
Nathan King (Flute/Clarinet/Tenor Sax), Ryan DeWeese (Trumpet/Flugelhorn), Ramsey Hampton (Trombone), Michael Sobie (Piano), Blake Estrada (Bass), and Jay Tibbitts (Drums)

Here is a preview of the Avengers Theme posted-

The two tracks I find myself listening to over and over are the “Mickey Mouse March” and “One Little Spark”.   For me they stand out of the pack and I am enjoying them.

The full album was released on July 17th and a limited vinyl pressing release on August 17th.

More information can be found online at www.swinginmusic.com or on Instagram at @swinginmouse


*This post contains affiliate links, as an Amazon Associate the site earns from qualifying purchases.

Leave a Comment