DestinationsDisneyland ResortWalt Disney World Resort

Candlelight Processional Overview

The Candlelight Processional has been a tradition at Disneyland since 1958. It was started as a request of Walt Disney to Dr. Charles Hirt (a friend and Chairman of the Choral Music Department at the University of Southern California). In 1971 when the Magic Kingdom opened in Walt Disney World they started the tradition on Main Street as well. Traditionally the ceremony ran one weekend a year and only a couple of shows per evening. In 1993 the Walt Disney World show moved to EPCOT where it has been since. The Disneyland version tried out the Fantasyland Theater in 1998 but returned to Main Street. At Walt Disney World they run three shows a night most nights from Thanksgiving through Christmas. At Disneyland in 2012 they expanded to run for 20 nights from December 1st through 20th.

Here are some video clips from both coasts I have taken:

I had several requests for what songs are in the show. Below are the listings for both Disneyland and Walt Disney World.

Disneyland Candlelight Processional Show Order/Song List:

Procession songs:

  1. O Little Town of Bethlehem (in G unison)
  2. The First Noel (in D, unison)
  3. Hark the Herald Angels Sing (in F, unison)
  4. It Came Upon a Midnight Clear. (in B-Flat, unison)

Show order:

  1. Sing Praise to Him, Our Lord (arr. Jim Christensen)
  2. The First Noel (arr. Don Neufeld, Azusa Pacific University)
  3. Candlelight Carol (arr. John Rutter)
  4. He is Born (arr. Roger Wagner)
  5. Angels We Have Heard on High (arr Eskew/Healey)
  6. What Child is This (arr. Ken Whitcomb)
  7. We Three Kings (arr. Eskew/Healey)
  8. Sing Noel (arr. Brent Pierce)
  9. Joy to the World (arr. Bob Krogstadt)
  10. Silent Night (arr. Fred Bock)
  11. One Solitary Life Underscore
  12. O Come All Ye Faithful
  13. Hallelujah Chorus (Handel’s Messiah)
  14. Candlelight Recessional (Up on the House Top)
  15. Sleigh Ride

Walt Disney World Show Order:

  1. Shout For Joy
  2. O Come All Ye Faithful
  3. Away in a Manager
  4. O Holy Night
  5. Angels From The Realms Of Glory
  6. Angels We Have Heard on High
  7. Rejoice With Exceeding Great Joy/We Three Kings
  8. What Child Is This?
  9. Do You Hear What I Hear?
  10. Silent Night
  11. Joy To The World
  12. The Hallelujah Chorus

Related Links:

Thank you to Mark for the Disneyland show order information, the WDW info is from the CD that was released in 1997

Leave a Comment