John Carter Books

Interested reading the original John Carter stories? Or learning more about this upcoming film? In advance of the upcoming John Carter film (release March 9, 2012) Disney has published several books including the original stories and a novelization of the movie. John Carter is a character created by Edgar Rice Burroughs (you may be familiar with another of his famous works.. Tarzan). John Carter showed up in a series of stories that were published starting in 1912 as a series of multi-part stories in magazines. There were 11 books released between 1912 and 1943 of the Barsoom series.

Disney has republished the original stories into a three volume set:

  • The Collected John Carter of Mars Volume One –
    • A Princess of Mars (1912)
    • The Gods of Mars (1913)
    • The Warlord of Mars (1913-1914)
  • The Collected John Carter of Mars Volume Two –
    • Thuvia, Maid of Mars (1916)
    • The Chessmen of Mars (1922)
    • The Master Mind of Mars (1927)
    • A Fighting Man of Mars (1930)
  • The Collected John Carter of Mars Volume Three –
    • Swords of Mars (1934-1935)
    • Synthetic Men of Mars (1939)
    • Llana of Gathol (1941)
    • John Carter and the Giant of Mars (1941)
    • Skeleton Men of Jupiter (1943)

Disney has also published a novel based on the movie. This book contains the novelization of the film as well as the first Edgar Rice Burroughs story, the Princess of Mars to introduce you to John Carter.

Book’s Referenced Above:

Leave a Comment